Explore the ‘lost’ buildings of Dublin on this atmospheric and evocative self-guided audio walk, and discover a surprisingly multi-layered city and society.
From Hector Grey’s bargain shop to places destroyed in the 1916 Rising, Orla Fitzpatrick has curated a tour that includes both recent casualties and long-lost buildings. Discover the former home of Dublin Bread Company’s flagship café on O’Connell Street. Designed by Samuel Beckett’s grandfather, it was known for its chess games, political meetings and “damn bad cakes.” The tour includes the site of elaborately-decorated French urinals on Eden Quay and the High Altar on O’Connell Bridge, installed for the 1932 Eucharistic Congress.
Orla Fitzpatrick is a photographic historian and librarian from Stoneybatter, Dublin.
Her research interests include photography, dress and design history. This walking tour is based on her book Lost Ireland, which draws on her extensive knowledge of Ireland’s photographic archives. With wonderful illustrations, it uses archival photographs to explore the ways in which buildings and cities function and change. She writes about Irish vernacular photography at www.jacolette.com
IMAGE: Urinal on Ormond Quay, Dublin, 1969. Photograph by Elinor Wiltshire National Library of Ireland WIL41
This walking route starts at the French Urinals at Burgh Quay/Corner of O’Connell Bridge before moving on to:
Eucharistic Congress Altar
O’Connell Bridge on the side facing the Ha’penny Bridge
Old Liberty Hall
Lower Abbey Street
18 Lower O’Connell Street
Dublin Bread Company
6 Lower O’Connell Street
Hector Grey’s Shop
Liffey Street, Upper
Hector’s Grey’s Stall
Liffey Street, Lower