22 – 28 October
2020

Programme

Let’s Do His Stupid Idea…: Patrick Freyne in conversation with Emilie Pine

Date
Tuesday, 27 Oct
Time
8:00PM
Venue
Online
Price
€5

“Patrick Freyne is a comic genius” Marian Keyes

Patrick Freyne has tried a lot of stupid ideas in his life. With his debut essay collection OK, Let's Do Your Stupid Idea tucked under his arm, he’s here to tell us about them. From the day he opened a gate and let a horse out of its field just to see what would happen to the time many years later he used a magazine as a funnel for fuel when the petrol cap on his band's van broke, and all points in-between, life as seen through the eyes of Patrick Freyne is strange, funny and always interesting. Hear him talk about what he’s learned too, such as the power of group song; the beauty of physically caring for another human being; childlessness; and losing friends far too young. An Irish Times features writer by day, Freyne’s debut is one for fans of David Sedaris or Nora Ephron.

In conversation with writer Emilie Pine, author of the essay collection, Notes to Self.

The Gutter Bookshop is sad they can’t be at the festival in person this year but you can browse (and purchase!) books by the featured authors at the special ILFDublin festival shop - CLICK HERE. And remember that there’s no postage to pay in Ireland if you spend over €30 or if you choose to collect your books from either of our bookshops. Just choose the ‘Free Shipping’ or ‘Click & Collect’ options at checkout!